A Day in the Life

by Lesley on October 28, 2013 · 14 comments

in motherhood


I love reading about what other people’s days look like, especially work-from-home mamas. Yesterday Robin posted about her day, which inspired me to write about mine. Here’s what I do on a typical Monday, Wednesday or Friday:

5:00am: Owen is making grunting noises from his crib. Even though he’s in another room now (down the hall!) I can still hear him. I’m convinced new mamas have a seventh sense. I offer Owen a “half” feed so that he won’t be hungry, but will sleep longer. He takes the bait; I go back to sleep.

7:00am: My alarm goes off, or Owen wakes me again. I nurse him in bed while scrolling through emails and blog posts on my phone. I love this feeding because I’m not exhausted, but the house is quiet and calm. Sometime between 7-7:30am, I hear Anna. Jonathan usually gets her up, but if I’m done feeding Owen then I’ll go into her room. She still hasn’t realized that she could get off her bed and open the door herself.

7:30am: Jonathan or I make Anna breakfast. This hour of the morning is CRAZY because everyone is hungry, everyone is still a little bit groggy, and Jonathan is trying to get out the door. Sometimes we eat together (pumpkin oatmeal or waffles!) but more often than not I’m holding Owen in one arm, emptying the dishwasher with the other, and taking bites of toast here and there.

8:00am: We all stand at the window and wave goodbye to Daddy. Owen often goes down to sleep between 8:00am and 8:15am. I finish cleaning up breakfast, then read a few books with Anna.

8:30am: I rush to do a few chores like making the bed (I hate a messy bed), and putting a load of laundry in the machine. I never know how long Owen will sleep so I try to make good use of the time when his eyes are shut.

9:30am: Get Anna dressed, get my running clothes on, prep Anna’s snack. As soon as Owen wakes up I feed him, then head out for a run. Getting out the door with two small children is a LOT of work. Sweatshirts, blankets, water bottles, diapers, keys, stroller, phone, blah blah blah. No joke- 20 minutes to get out the door.

10:00am-Noon: Run for 20-30 minutes, then stop at the park and let Anna play. Owen will sometimes sleep on the run. We head home as soon as he’s fussy and inconsolable.

Noon: Lunch time, play in the backyard, then read a few books to Anna before she goes down for her nap at 1:00pm. I usually feed Owen sometime between 12:30 and 1pm.

1:00pm-3:30pm: Anna naps, while I clean up kitchen (again), write, blog, read my bible, open mail, return emails, and prep dinner (if I’m disciplined.)  OH! I also shower during this time period. Usually Owen is awake for at least some of her nap, but I’m trying hard to get their nap schedules to overlap. If he’s awake then I enjoy some one-on-one tummy time and flirting.

3:30pm: Anna is up and begging for a snack. We eat together then play in the front yard, watch Thomas the Train or maybe run a quick errand to Savemart or Target. Owen eats again and takes a short late afternoon nap.

5:30-6:30pm: Owen eats between 5:30 and 6:30pm. Dinner is often on the stove, Anna is hungry, and he’s exhausted. I’m always stirring something, attempting to keep Anna happy, putting on his pajamas, feeding him again, and praying Jonathan gets home as soon as possible. Owen goes to sleep at 6:30pm.

6:30-7:00pm: The three of us eat as a family, then Jonathan bathes her while I do dishes. (We switch off.) One of us reads her a couple books before her prayers and goodnight kisses at 7:30pm.

7:30pm-10:00pm: If I have energy, I’ll read or write. A few nights a week we’ll catch up on our Hulu queue. I give Owen a “dream feed” at 10:00pm, before starting my own bedtime wind-down. I try to go to sleep by 10:30 but sometimes it’s later.

That photo was taken earlier this month during bath time. You’ll notice I was still in my running clothes at 6:00pm. Not every day goes according the plan. :)  What’s your day look like? 

Related Posts with Thumbnails


  1. […] Lesley and Becca posted their days yesterday. And I decided I’d link-up as well. […]

  2. […] Lesley from Barefoot on 45th […]